<< Return to help center
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

Deleting a user

Transitioning the contacts and other activity from a departing employee's CRM account to their new replacement or other existing users can be critical to making that transition as smooth as possible. Learn how to delete a user here:

Step 1: Transfer account ownership.
  • If necessary, you will need to reach out to LACRM support to transfer ownership of an account. Contact us here.
Step 2: Lock out departing user.
  • If necessary, click "Lock out" under the user's name on your Users Settings page, then confirm to lock out a user. You will still be charged for locked out users.
Step 3: Create account for replacement user.
  • If necessary, select the "Add a new user" button from your Users Settings page to set up a new user's permissions. Learn more about adding users here.
Step 4: Reassign contacts and calendar items, then delete the user.
  • From your Users Settings page, click "Delete" under the user's name to group and reassign their contacts, future tasks, and future events.
  • Please note: if you need past events and tasks reassigned to another user, contact us for help.
  • Once contacts and calendar items have been reassigned, confirm the user's deletion.
  • Learn how a deleted user’s history will display in the CRM here.
  • Accidentally deleted a user? Learn how to restore users here.

Step 1: Transfer account ownership.

In some cases, the departing user may be the current owner of the CRM account. (Whoever creates the account is the owner by default, but ownership can be transferred at any time.) The owner of the account cannot be removed, so you’ll need to transfer ownership to another user before deleting the departing user’s login.

You'll need to contact LACRM support to complete an ownership transfer. Click "Help" button in the lower left corner of your CRM to send us a contact form, or email us at help@lessannoyingcrm.com to request an ownership transfer.

The process for transferring ownership begins with an email verification sent to the address of the user who should be the new owner of the account. Next, the LACRM team sends an email to the current owner’s email address. That email contains a link that the current owner must click to authorize transfer of account ownership to another user on the account (the email will mention who will be the new owner). For security reasons, this is the only way to quickly transfer ownership of an account, as it involves no judgment by the LACRM team.

Note that the owner always has admin rights, so a new owner will be able to remove the departing former owner, even if there were no other admins on the account previously.

Step 2: Lock out departing user.

Locking out a user prevents them from logging in and accessing CRM data immediately, but is not the same as removing them entirely from the account. To lock out a user, go to your Users Settings page and click "Lock out" under the user's name. Any admin can lock out a user. Please note: account owners can never be locked out, which is why any required ownership transfers must come before this step!

You will still be charged for any locked user that remains on your account at the time of your monthly billing. Locking out is designed to temporarily suspend access to the CRM for security reasons, not as a way of removing a user from the account entirely.

Step 3: Create account for replacement user.

If a new user will be replacing the current user, we do not recommend simply changing the current user's name and email address. If you plan to transfer any contacts or other CRM information from your departing user to their replacement, you’ll want to create that user’s login now. To create a new user, head to your Users Settings page, and click the button at the top to create your new user. For more information on adding users, click here.

We recommend this step in order to preserve CRM history -- historical entries in the CRM will still show your departing user’s name as long as you delete them, rather than renaming them. Renaming the departing user will cause those historical entries in the CRM to show the replacement user’s name instead, which is typically not ideal.

Step 4: Reassign contacts and calendar items, then delete the user.

On the Users Settings page, click "Delete" below the user's name. This will open a window where you can reassign that user's contact/company records, future events, and incomplete tasks. If you choose not to reassign these, they will be deleted. We recommend grouping these contacts as well, so the deleted user's contacts are easy to find later. Once you've reassigned and grouped everything, click "Delete user." Accidentally deleted a user? Learn how to restore deleted users here.

Next up:
Keywords:
Removing user, ownership transfer, new user
How do I can you are you able to can I how to is it possible