Managing Sharing Permissions for Other Users

When you register a new account, you’ll be prompted to make some choices about that new user's rights and permissions. These options can be changed at any time by an administrator simply by navigating to the Add and Manage Users page and clicking "Edit this user" next to the small pencil icon to the right of the user’s name.

When you’re adding or editing a user, you’ll first be asked two questions about permissions:

  1. Is this an administrator?
     
    Administrators will see additional options that let them make customization changes and manage the account for your company, including changing the colors and that kind of thing. Administrators can also change permission settings and enter billing details. Normal users will not be able to make account-wide changes or enter billing details.
  2. Should this user be able to export contacts from the CRM?
    If you block a user from all mass export features, they will not be able to download contacts to Excel, sync with MailChimp, sync with Google Contacts, or use the API. If you select "No," you'll see additional options if you'd like to allow them to have access to only certain exports or syncs.

Below that, you’ll have one section to determine whose contacts this user can see and another section to determine whose calendar this user can see. You can decide if a user should have  "Full Access" (read and edit), "Read-only Access" (read but not edit), or "No Access" (not even see) to each other user’s contacts and calendar. The column on the left side of each section dictates which other users at your company have access to the current user’s data. The column on the right side of each section dictates access for the current user.  

Please note: In order to reassign contacts a user will need to have “Full Access” to the contacts of the current contact owner and “Full Access” to the contacts of the user who will be assigned the contacts. Similarly, in order to assign a task or event to another user, they will need to have “Full Access” to that user’s calendar.

You can choose the permissions on a user-by-user basis. For example, a manager might have access to a user’s contacts and calendar, but that user can’t see the manager’s contacts or calendar. If you work with sales teams, the team can share data amongst themselves, but anyone not on the team cannot see their data.

Still have questions? Less Annoying CRM comes with free phone and email support - even if you're not a paying customer! Use our contact page to get a hold of us, and we'll be happy to help however we can.



Still have some questions? - If this article didn’t provide all the information you need, just let us know your question below and we’ll be happy to help you!

Help us be less annoying!
If something in this article was unclear, innacurate, or could be improved, let us know by filling out the form below.

Name
Email
Comment
Beginner's Guide
Security Center
Frequently Asked Questions
Account Management
Billing and Pricing
Contacts and Companies
Pipelines
The Calendar
Groups
Integrations
API
 
 
 
Spread the Word
Come say hi!