The calendar and task sharing permissions determine which calendars are visible to a user, and whether they can assign items to other user’s calendars. These permissions are based around access to other user’s calendar, and a user can have “Full access” (view and make changes), “Read-only access” (view but not make changes), or “No access” (not even view) to each other user’s calendar. These permission options can be used to determine which schedules each individual can access, and whether they can create tasks or events for other users.
There are a number of possible permission setups, depending on how your team works. For example, a sales manager may set their team to have “Read-only access” to their calendar, so every salesperson knows where the manager is, without being able to assign the manager events or tasks. The manager may have “Full access” to each salesperson so they can assign tasks and events, while each salesperson has “No access” to each other’s calendars, so they can’t see what every other salesperson is up to.
Alternatively, if you have an administrative assistant that works with multiple team members, the administrative assistant may have “Full access” to the calendar of every team member they assist, while the other users have access to only their own calendars.
If you have multiple teams in the CRM, you can restrict permissions between teams while allowing everyone who works together to share calendars. For example, if your marketing team works collaboratively they may be able to access each other’s calendars through the “Full access” option, but your sales team isn’t, so they should have access to only their own calendar (“No access” to every other user’s calendar). The manager for each team can access all of their team’s calendars, and the CEO can access every calendar.
There are many different ways permissions can be applied, and if you’re not sure what is best for your team contact us and we can help!