<< Return to help center
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

How can I organize all of the contacts I just imported?

When you finish importing your spreadsheet, you’ll be offered a list of actions that you can take on the new records you created. Here’s a review of those options and examples of how you can use them to organize your import.

Note: If you imported both contacts and companies, you’ll have the option to apply each action to all of the records, just the contacts, or just the companies.

Attach a note

Attaching a note is useful in cases where you want to capture some information, but won’t need to search or sort by this information later. For example, if some contact information from your spreadsheet might be outdated, you could attach a note on this to each record. This note would show up at the beginning of each contact’s history on their profile to remind you and your team to verify the information when they next speak with that person.

Attach a pipeline item

Use this option if you import a list of records that are all at the same stage in a pipeline. For example, if you’ve imported a list of sales prospects, you can place them all in the “Prospect” status of your Lead pipeline. Each of those records will be marked as “Prospect,” so it’ll be clear to you and your team that you need to reach out to those contacts.

Add to a group

If you want to keep the records from your import together in the future, you can create a new group for them. You can also add them all to existing groups. If you’re importing a list of people who signed up for your newsletter at a trade show, you could add them all to a group named “Newsletter Subscribers.”

Assign the records to a different user

This option will assign the records from your import to another user in bulk. This is a good option if you’re uploading contacts for other teammates to work with and want to make it clear who is responsible for each contact or company

Undo the import

If you made a mistake, you can select this option to delete all the records from your import. Keep in mind that this will also erase any work you’ve done with those records!

Next up:
Keywords:
Importing contacts, organizing, grouping, bulk