Can I upload files?
With Less Annoying CRM, uploading files is easy. With just a couple of clicks, you can upload files to a specific field, or to a contact/company record generally, so that you can reference them later. This is great for uploading invoices, letters, PDFs, Word documents, and much more!
Please note: there is a maximum file upload size of 50 MB. Files larger than 50 MB cannot be uploaded.
Each user in Less Annoying CRM also has 10 GB of file upload space, and that allotment is pooled amongst all the users on an account. For example, an account with six users has 60 GB of space for file uploads, shared amongst all users. If you are ever running out of space, a Less Annoying CRM support member will reach out to you to give you a heads-up, so don't fret too much about micromanaging your usage!
Uploading a file to a field
You can upload a file to a custom field directly. This option is best if you’ll need to filter by whether you have this document or not, or if you have certain required documents you need to collect. In order to use this option, you must first have a custom file field created. You can learn more about creating custom fields here.
To upload a file to a custom file field, you’ll first need to edit the area where that field exists. This might mean editing the contact or company, or it might mean editing a pipeline item. Once you’ve selected to edit, you can click the link to upload a file from your computer, or drag-and-drop the file directly to upload it.
After you select the file from your computer, or drag-and-drop it, you may see a loading bar momentarily before the file appears. Large files will take longer to upload, so you may see the loading bar for longer if you upload a large file.
Once the file upload is complete, a file tag will appear within the field. By default, the file will be displayed by its file name, so you may find it easier to name files appropriately before uploading. You can also rename the file in the system after upload if you'd prefer.
Uploading a file to a contact/company record
You can upload a file to a contact or company record directly. This option is best for more general files, or files that are collected in a less structured or consistent way.
To start, go to a contact or company record directly. Just below and slightly to the right of the record name is an option “Attach an item.” You can mouse over that, and then select “File” from the dropdown.
A dialog will appear with an option to select the file from your computer, or drag-and-drop the file. After you select the file from your computer, or drag-and-drop it, you may see a loading bar momentarily before the file appears. Large files will take longer to upload, so you may see the loading bar for longer if you upload a large file.
Once the file upload is complete, the file will show on the contact or company's profile near the top of the screen. By default, the file will be displayed by its file name, so you may find it easier to name files appropriately before uploading. You can also rename the file in the system after upload if you'd prefer.
Renaming, opening, and deleting files
To interact with a file, simply click on the file tag (either on the contact/company or in a specific field). Some types of files can be viewed without downloading, and will show a preview image of the file in the dialog that opens; other files will show an icon based on the file type instead.
The dialog that opens will show the file name, and include a few options on the right. You can select the “Download” option to download your file. The file will be immediately downloaded to your hard drive. You can change where downloaded files are saved on your system in your browser's settings.
You can select “Open in browser” to view the file in a new tab (you will not be able to edit the file in this view). This option is only available for some file types, like PDFs and images, so it may not always appear. You can select “Rename” on the right to change the name of the file. Simply enter a new name in the field that appears, and then save it. You can also remove files by clicking the “Delete” option.
Sometimes you need to upload a new version of a file, but you don't want to lose your older draft. No problem! Less Annoying CRM supports file versioning.
To get started, click on a file tag. In the dialog that opens, you can select “Upload a new version” on the right. You will be prompted to select the new version from your hard drive.
Once you have uploaded your new version, the file dialog will show a version history. The version history will show older versions of the uploaded file, as well as some details like the file name, who uploaded the file, the upload date, and the file size.
To open older versions of the file, just click the “Download” link below that older version. You can also select “Delete” to remove older versions to reduce clutter.