<< Return to help center
Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.

How to delete a field

LACRM allows you to add custom fields that can be used to track different data points, but sometimes you need to remove fields to help clean up your database. It is possible to delete custom fields from the CRM, which will remove the field itself and delete any data entries within that field. Exactly how to remove the field will depend on where the field exists: on a contact, on a company, or in a pipeline.

Please note: only administrators are able to delete fields. If you don’t see the following options, you’ll need to contact an administrator on your account.

Deleting a contact or company field

If the field appears on a contact or company record, you can delete the field by mousing over “Settings” and selecting “Custom fields” in the menu.

On the next page you can select either “Contacts” or “Companies,” depending on where the field appears. Then you’ll see a list of the existing fields for that record type. You can mouse over the field you’d like to delete, and two links will appear.

You can select “Delete field” to remove the field, and then confirm the deletion in the dialog that appears.

Please note that default fields cannot be deleted. If you mouse over a field and the links to edit or delete the field do not appear, it is a default field and cannot be removed. You can, however, click and drag that field to move it.

Once deleted, the field will appear at the bottom of the page under the “Deleted fields” header. If you accidentally delete a field, or decide you’d like it back later, you can use the “Restore” link next to the field name to add it back.

Deleting a pipeline field

If the field appears within a pipeline, you can delete the field by mousing over “Settings” and selecting “Pipelines” in the menu.

On the next page, you’ll see a list of your existing pipelines. You can select “Edit statuses and fields” below the appropriate pipeline name. Under the “Custom fields” section of the next page, you’ll see a list of your existing fields. You can mouse over the field you’d like to delete, and two links will appear.

You can select “Delete field” to remove the field, and then confirm the deletion in the dialog that appears.

Once deleted, the field will appear at the bottom of the page under the “Deleted fields” header. If you accidentally delete a field, or decide you’d like it back later, you can use the “restore” link next to the field name to add it back.

Next up:
Keywords:
Remove, get rid of