The contact and company sharing permissions determine which names and businesses different users are able to see. These permissions are based around access to other user’s contacts, and a user can have “Full access” (view and edit), “Read-only access” (view but not edit), or “No access” (not even view) to each other user’s contacts. These permission options can be used to determine what each individual should be able to access, and what actions they can take on those records.
There are a number of possible permission setups, depending on how your team works. For example, you may want your sales team to be able to see each other’s data so they know which accounts and contacts have already been identified, but not be able to edit other salespeople’s records or leave notes. In this situation, you can give salespeople “Read-only access” to each other’s records while setting up the sales manager with “Full access” to every salesperson’s data.